Bulfinch Hall Renovation, Phillips Andover Academy
Bulfinch Hall was originally built in 1801 and had, at various times in its history, been used as a gym and dining hall. It was remodeled in 1936 for the English Department, which still uses it as their Department Headquarters. The renovation sought to address a number of issues: make the building fully ADA accessible with the addition of an exterior ramp and interior elevator, modifications to thresholds, doors, and door hardware, and creating new compliant bathrooms; add a new wing housing two new high-tech classrooms; upgrade all systems, including a new fire protection system, and new lighting; and renovate the exterior, including masonry cleaning and repointing, a new cupola, and window restoration. The original Debate Room was converted into a Lounge where students and faculty could meet, and all the classrooms were upgraded with new technology to meet current teaching standards. The vibrant colors used in the classrooms are a huge success, and help everyone differentiate the otherwise quite similar classrooms. The project also included interior finishes and furnishings, and included a custom table in the meeting room, made from trees felled on the site. show PDF
Photos by Peter Vanderwarker.